Family

Family

Monday, December 18, 2017

REVIEW: ISAIAH'S DAUGHTER BY MESU ANDREWS~Abigail

                                                                                                     

33916341


 Isaiah's Duaghter                     
By: Mesu Andrews
Publisher: Waterbrook Press
Release Date: Janurary 16th, 2018
Genres: Bible Fiction, Historical Fiction, Romance, Christian Fiction
Pages: 384
Where You Can Buy It: Penguin Random House, Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, Christian Book, and Life Way (It is avalable in most book stores also)
Add On: Goodreads
Find Author: Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Goodreads, Instagram, and Youtube
Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5 stars)


In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah's household rises to capture the heart of the future king.

Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name--Zibah, delight of the Lord--thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet's home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah's lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah's favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.



Image result for my review png



My first impression of this book, was not very good. I was really uncertain about this book because it was a biblical fiction. My impression for this book changed though as I got into it more. Mesu Andrews did a great job on her biblical and historical research for this book. This book was just great overall, the story and the writing was done very well. One thing that I loved the most was in the beginning of the book, Andrews, made a character list that said what characters were biblical and/or historical and what characters she made up. It was really helpful to know who was actually biblical and historical and who was fictional.

This book was about a young girl named Ishma, Destruction, whose parents and town fell to the Israelites. Ishma and her friend Yaira became prisoners of war. As young girls both were traumatized and would be for the rest of their lives. Once, Ishma and Yaira arrive in Jerusalem, they are taken into the house of Isaiah. At first, Ishma refuses to talk because of all of the horrors that she as a young girl of five, had seen. It wasn't until another traumatized child, Prince Hezekiah, was brought to Isaiah's house to see if the two children could help each other through their trauma. After meeting Ishma, and Hezekiah both got better and they were becoming best friends. Ishma started to go to the palace school because Hezekiah still needed her. As Hezekiah and Ishma grew up, under their father like figure, Isaiah. The two grew a bond that was inseparable. When Hezekiah had to go away for some time later in his teen years, both missed each other so much. It wasn't until a few years later that Isaiah and Aya, Isaiah's wife, adopted Ishma to be their own and named her Hezekiah. Zibah, and Hezi (these were there nicknames throughout the book) were later bethorthed. As a married couple there came many hard times and tribulations that would seek to pull these two apart. Through these hard times and tribulations, both Hezi and Zibah, had to learn to lean on Yahweh and each other to get the strength and help that they needed. 

The few days of reading this book, especially last night, was a rollercoaster of emotions. I honestly could not keep the same emotion for more than one page at a time. I literally felt like this:
 Image result for roller coaster of emotions gif

  


Things that I liked about this book:

1. She had quotes of scripture at every chapter. This book was filled of scripture not only were there parts when Isaiah would prophecy but also just when Hezi and Zibah would quote scripture together to get one another calm. Like all of ours, their faith was tested many times, especially as a married couple. 

2. I loved how she portraited marriage. Marriage is not an easy thing. Even though I myself am not married, nor will I be for a while. I know from observing other marriages that it is not an easy thing. I recently for school had to listen to I ‘Isaac Take Thee Rebekah, by Ravi Zacharias and one part that keep on coming back to me was the part of that love is just not an emotion but a will too. There are times when you have to have the will to love someone because times get hard. 

3. Bible characters. I have always known that the people in the bible were real and once living, but this book made them feel more alive. This book makes me want to go and read all of the Old Testament just to read about some of these characters in the bible. 

4. This book was so well written and researched. I could tell that Andrews had done a lot of research before writing this book. Just the flow and all the historical facts that are accurate made this book and characters become more alive on the pages. 

5. This book was just overall a great book, that I recommend. There are some scenes that are fine if you are in high school are above. Other than those few scenes this book was great and appropriate for all ages. (Just as a note; the scenes were not that bad, but just not appropriate for young ages.)

In conclusion, I LOVED this book and hope that when it comes out that you will read and love it too. Now if you excuse me, I have to go and read Isaiah. 


*I received this book from Bloggers for Books*

No comments:

Post a Comment